As students go back to school to start their spring semester, finding a summer internship is definitely on their to-do list, and now is the time when employers are looking for talented students to fill their organizational needs. So each year Bethesda Green hosts Fields of Green Internship Fair to connect highly qualified students who are looking for opportunities in the environmental sector with DC metro area’s green employers. Getting ready for the event this year, we decided to share a series of profiles about some of the amazing interns who have worked with us recently.

Melanie Herrera PhotoMeet Melanie Herrera. She is a senior at Paint Branch High School, participating in the Honors Executive Leadership Program, an honors career and leadership development program.

How did you hear about Bethesda Green? I heard of Bethesda Green through my program supervisor, Kim Jones. She helped me connect with Bethesda Green since I am interested in studying environmental science in college.

The best thing about interning at Bethesda Green is interacting with various green businesses that work closely with Bethesda Green and learning new ways to go green.

I am most passionate about my family because they support and motivate me in everything I do.

One thing you do to protect the environment? I participate in my school’s environmental club where we educate others about the environment and promote recycling and sustainability.

Future goals/plans?  I hope to have a career in the field of environmental science. I am also looking forward to graduating this year and traveling to Portland, Oregon, to visit my family.

