As students go back to school to start their spring semester, finding a summer internship is definitely on their to-do list, and now is the time when employers are looking for talented students to fill their organizational needs. So each year Bethesda Green hosts Fields of Green Internship Fair to connect highly qualified students who are looking for opportunities in the environmental sector with DC metro area’s green employers. Getting ready for the event this year, we decided to share a series of profiles about some of the amazing interns who have worked with us recently.

Jenny Roe PhotoMeet Jennifer Roe. She grew up in Bethesda but has lived all over the world since then.  She spent a year in Edinburgh, Scotland, and received a Master’s degree in Sustainable Development. During her time in Scotland she became passionate about moving away from an unhealthy, unfair food system and has been working towards building a healthier system ever since.

How did you hear about Bethesda Green? I found out about Bethesda Green when I first moved back to the U.S. from Scotland.  During my job search I came across BG’s website; decided to attend the Education, Outreach and Marketing meeting; and soon after, began my internship.

The best thing about interning at Bethesda Green…was getting to know the people there.  I loved working with the BG team and all the community members who are so passionate about making Bethesda and surrounding communities more sustainable.  Everyone is filled with inspiring ideas about how to change the world for the better.

What have you been up to since your internship at Bethesda Green? After my internship, I started working for a start-up company called Relay Foods.  We are an online farmers market and grocery store that offers 300 local products as well as everyday groceries.  Relay is working towards building a more efficient, no-waste food system that supports small, local business. I am so proud of the growth I have seen in the company over the past 6 months and think everyone should try it out!

I am most passionate about healthy, delicious food that is good for the earth!

One thing you do to protect the environment? Shop local whenever possible.

Future goals/plans? TRAVEL! I have spent  a lot of time traveling but the list never ends. I also hope to one day go to business school to learn about starting my own organization that gives back to those in needs and creates a healthier world.

