As the sun sloped down, the air cooled to a blissful eighty-five degrees, like a breath of fresh air, all of the members of Bethesda Green arrived at the Bethesda Big Train Baseball game. Rolling in alongside of them were the members of Dartmouth’s “Big Green Bus,” a group of ten students riding around the country on a bus fueled with restaurant grease to raise awareness for the environment.

As the normal crowd for the game began to arrive, I was reminded of the lesser-known laws of physics.

The fourth law states: People will gravitate toward free samples. Honest Tea, who had also joined us in reveling in the summer evening, knew this truth well. As I saw swarms of people downing different varieties of tea, from “Orange Mango Lemonade” to “Peach White Tea” it was evident that Honest Tea’s wisdom was not limited to the proverbs they place on the side of their bottles.

The fifth law states: People love large shiny objects. This was the root of the popularity of the “Big Green Bus.” Even I succumbed to the siren call of seeing what was inside of the bus (which did in fact turn out to be pretty awesome).

Now, I could say that I was upset over the lack of attention paid to Bethesda Green’s table. But after the hubbub of Solar Bethesda, I, along with everyone else, was relishing an evening to relax with his or her families and friends at Bethesda Green. So, although I must regrettably say that no large strides in environmental awareness were made that night, the evening did not end without its small successes. The event helped form or cement many of the friendships that will create a thriving green community that in the long term will have an enormous positive impact.

In a company that is composed largely of volunteers, in a blooming industry where word of mouth is essential, everyone knows that even the smallest connections can one day lead to very large changes.

This article could quite easily end here on its delightfully cheesy note. However, I would like to interject a small anecdote that has simultaneously sealed my faith in the third law of physics while also forcing me to look into the conspiratorial nature of environmental businesses.

The third law of physics, for all of you who did not pay attention in science class, is: never under-estimate the selling power of a cute little kid (your science teacher might beg to differ). The anecdote begins with a conversation with Sonya’s (creator of “EverGreen Home Coffee”) nine-year-old daughter. In the span of five minutes, this little girl not only convinced me that I should drink EverGreen Home coffee, but that I also know nothing about coffee. She thereby has managed to both pull my faith from Wikipedia as the supreme center of knowledge, and has managed to do so with such a large smile that I can see no other option for my next actions. I must go and hunt for cuddly kittens and chocolate (physics laws one and two) to garner attention for Bethesda Green. The Bethesda Big Train Game might have been a few hours of respite for our company, but I promise, the next time we are all together, we are going to pack so much Adorable in our literature, that everyone will have no option but to Go Green with envy.

Honest Tea, Big Green Bus, and The EverGreen Home Coffee, please bring your A game.

