Last weekend’s climbing temperatures and snow melt-off got me started poking around the yard, cleaning up debris, turning soil, and enjoying the first sprouts of daffodils.  But March is always a month of tease and retreat, as the weather again chills, pushing me back indoors.

March is also Greening and Cleaning Your Home theme month for Bethesda Green, which gives me the opportunity to highlight and recommend a recent Organicmania posting on the topic.  Lynn Miller offers various tips, including one of my favorites to use basic, homemade cleaning concoctions derived from baking soda, castile soap, vinegar, and lemon (with some recipes available here).

It also gives me the chance to expand a bit on my previous post about community networking.  At the Brookmont green cafe gathering, Elena Lomicky from Ecobeco recommended using eco-friendly cleaning products for those disinclined to mixing up their own from natural ingredients.  A good reference to check for more information is National Geographic’s All-Purpose Cleaners Buying Guide.

I also endorse Brookmont resident Sandy Robinson’s approach to cleaning: a little water and elbow grease goes a long way.  Happy Spring Cleaning!

